The best job in the world

Surely you’ve all seen or heard the farewell speech by Lou Gehrig (then again, many in the social media generation may not know that Gehrig was even a baseball player).  I’ve always admired the quote.  Even in the face of adversity and misfortune, Gehrig was able to pick out the wonderful blessings he had been given.

I’m reminded of the quote anytime I get too busy to enjoy the little blessings God has bestowed on me.  Nearing completion of my current recruit academy, I was beginning to get mired in certification paperwork and evaluations.  I took a break from the mundane and began reviewing pictures for the graduation slideshow, and that’s when I saw Lou.

I browsed through three months worth of pride, perseverance, dedication, and smiles.  It was a refreshing experience to say the least.  The experience reminded me how lucky I am to have the best job in all the fire service.

Not only do I get to help other people learn, something I truly enjoy, but I get to spend an inordinate amount of time with people willing to become volunteer firefighters.  I get the opportunity to see that exuberant enthusiasm and the willingness to do whatever it takes every day.  I’m reminded daily about the values and traits that led me to put in my first application and plow through recruit class. If only there was some way to bottle up that feeling, to prescribe it to anyone in the fire service whose internal flame starts to flicker.

Now that I’m feeling recharged, you should see quite a bit more of me on the blog.  I look forward to the conversation

About Josh

I am the Recruitment & Retention Coordinator for the Boone County Fire Protection District.
This entry was posted in Quickly Noted and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

