Ohio Fire Academy

If you recall, I had the good fortune of spending a weekend with fellow fire instructors at the Ohio Fire Academy.  Here’s a rundown of the weekend.

First, I must say how impressed I was with the facility.  Coming from a state that does not have a main training facility, I did not really know what to expect.  However, even if I had a general idea about the facility it would have still surpassed my expectations.  The Academy had a large LP burn field, a flammable liquid burn pit, a confined space rescue prop, railcar props,  two burn buildings, a training tower, and a fleet of apparatus that would make most departments jealous.

Apparently, most of the academy’s funding comes from fees tacked on every fire insurance policy in the state.  Luckily for Ohio, those fees go straight to the academy and are not routed through the general revenue fund first (such is the case in my home state).  Ohio firefighters should certainly be proud of their academy.

The best part of the whole trip was the people I met.  Everyone at the Ohio Fire Academy office were tremendous.  To round out the weekend, the fire marshal even handed me a coffee mug.  While its no FireGeezer mug, I appreciated the gift and thought it was photo worthy.

If you ever get the chance to take a class at the Ohio Fire Academy, take it.  It’s a tremendous experience.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Josh

I am the Recruitment & Retention Coordinator for the Boone County Fire Protection District.
This entry was posted in Training Officer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

