Reality Check

My wife has recently become a big fan of the TV show Boston Med. It’s a real life docudrama about life in Boston hospitals. I’ve actually grown to like this show, moreso than some of her other favorites.  Boston Med has been taping for long enough to allow you to actually see the follow up and long term prognosis of all of the patients seen in the show. It’s a lot nicer to see the patient playing with their family than just reading it in text at the end of the show.

An episode I watched the other day via DVR really got me thinking about my contributions to society both now and in the future.  The entirety of this episode was focused on one patient, a patient receiving a full facial transplant.  Yes, you read that correctly.  This patient had his face transplanted (or actually someone else’s face transplanted to him).  That’s a pretty amazing feat and the episode was quite compelling.

Watching the doctor do his work and to see the impact this procedure had on the patient really struck me.  It’s not that I don’t think what we do is important but what this guy did was truly amazing.  Just think about it, right now there is a guy walking around that gave someone a new face.  What did you do today?

I don’t expect for me or anyone else to be able to make these kinds of contributions every day.  Even a facial transplant doctor has a slow day once in a while.  At least with me though, it really raised the bar on what is possible.

I seldom have moments that really grab my attention like this TV episode did.  If you’ve had similar aha moments, I’d love to hear them in the comments section.

About Josh

I am the Recruitment & Retention Coordinator for the Boone County Fire Protection District.
This entry was posted in Quickly Noted. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

