Obstacles to Social Media in the Fire Service

During the Social Media class that I taught at the Missouri Winter Fire School, the one question that I got more than any other was what obstacles stand in the way of Fire Department’s embracing social media. I did the best that I could to give my insight, but felt my answers didn’t truly live up to the depth of the question.

Luckily, fellow No Ambition But One contributor Patrick recently turned me on to a new blog, It’s Not My Emergency. One of the posts to the blog recently hit on the very question that many of my students had been inquiring about. In the blogger’s opinion, the following is a simple list of the obstacles to social media use:

  • Culture
  • Bureaucracy
  • Security
  • ICS

To see the full review of obstacles to implementing social media in the fire service, visit the site.

What are your thoughts?  What’s keeping social media from taking hold of the fire service like it has in so many other professions.  I’d love to hear your input in the comments!


About Josh

I am the Recruitment & Retention Coordinator for the Boone County Fire Protection District.
This entry was posted in Admin and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment